365 Days: Stroke of Midnight

Published January 1, 2014 by adventuresandthoughtbubbles

Last night as the clock struck 12, I was in the comfort of my own home. What better way to spend New Year than with family, right?

Before that, I was actually online reading posts on my reader and editing my last post, Salute to 2013.

When midnight arrived, we broke out the pots and horns. We didn’t use fireworks. And I swear, my mom is the cutest, she started banging together the covers of the pots [don’t worry, they’re made of metal], I was greeting people through text, my dad was cleaning up our Media Noche [meal to celebrate New Year]. My friend Isabelle called, but the call was short because we couldn’t hear each other because of the sound of fireworks and horns and pots that were coming from every direction possible. It was awesome. The noise wasn’t the annoying type like when you’re in traffic. It was a happy noise.

You could hear the sound of people screaming “HAPPY NEW YEAR” at the top of their lungs followed by a firecracker or a blow on their horn. In the moment after everyone on the block yelled, me and my parents rushed to the 3rd floor to watch fireworks. It reeked of smoke, but the beauty of the fireworks was just magical, like lots of glitter in the sky. The stench was worth it. A beautiful view and crazy laughs with the people you loved.

Yeah, I guess I did like where I was.

 

I’m sorry its so short! I just dont know how to explain last night. Let’s just say it was a brilliant start to 2014

signing off

3 comments on “365 Days: Stroke of Midnight

  • I have never hit pots and pans, though heard of it. So many customs and ways to bring in the year. The most important and best things is that you felt cared for, loved and safe to enjoy the chaos and celebrate!

  • Leave a Reply

